TULSA (January 4th, 2019) – VYPE Magazine and Shelter Insurance are proud to announce the winner of the Mr. Football Oklahoma Award, Noah Cortes of Broken Arrow High School. Cortes becomes the seventh player to win the coveted award. Cortes is the first Mr. Football Oklahoma from Broken Arrow High School.


The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award recognizes the outstanding athletic achievements of Noah Cortes and the high standards of athletic excellence and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, which distinguishes Cortes as Oklahoma’s best high school football player this season.

Cortes finished an historic season with the Broken Arrow Tigers by winning the Class 6AI state title over Jenks High School. The win marked the first state football title for Broken Arrow High School. Under the leadership and guidance of head coach David Alexander, Cortes set the single season rushing record for Broken Arrow and led the team to an undefeated season.

Screen Shot 2019-01-04 at 8.14.38 PM

During the season, Cortes rushed for 1,958 yards and 35 touchdowns. In the title game versus Jenks High School, Cortes rushed for 120 yards and a touchdown as the Tigers defeated the Trojans, 28-20.

VYPE Magazine Publisher Austin Chadwick said of Cortes, “Noah is a special player. Tough, physical, reliable. He embodied the DNA of Broken Arrow’s team and championship run. Proud of a young man that has turned into an exceptional player and person. We wish him good luck from the crew here at VYPE Oklahoma.”

Cortes joins former Mr. Football award winners; Trey’Vonne Barre’-Jenks (2012), Kai Callins-Guthrie (2013), Mason Fine-Locust Grove (2014), Cooper Nunley-Jenks (2015), Shamari Brooks-Union (2016), Joshua Proctor-Owasso (2017).

Other finalists for the Shelter Insurance Mr. Football award included: Dax Hill-Booker T. Washington, Sevion Morrison-Edison Prep, Trey Kiser-Sulphur, Gunnar Gundy-Stillwater, Jamie Nance-Blanchard, Ian Corwin-Jenks, Preston Colbert-Midwest City, Daniel Hishaw Jr.-Moore, Jacob Bruce-Hulbert, Shaidan Jordan-Beggs, DeAndre Young-Bartlesville, Wil Moyer-Cushing, Landon McCracken-Apache, Noah Hahn-Chisholm, Hayden Nunley-Cache, and Nate Bryant-Stigler. Carson Thompson of Canadian High School won the Fan’s Choice Champion award voted on by fans at VYPEOK.com.

The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award is voted on by members of the media to include print, radio and television across Oklahoma. Ballots are sent to more than 70 members and voting takes place over a month-long period. Voting ended on December 21st, 2018.

Congratulations to Noah Cortes of Broken Arrow High School – 2018 Mr. Football Oklahoma.

For more information on the Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Award, please contact Brad Heath at 918-806-2756.